Research Guide

Subject Guide

Rent control

Overview

In California, there are 17 cities that have rent control ordinance. Without rent control, landlords can raise tenant’s rent everyday or every minute of the day or can evict tenant whenever they want. Rent control ordinance includes rent increase limits and eviction restrictions. Rent control ordinance differs from City to City. In Glendale and San Diego California, eviction law only exists. Los Angeles, the biggest City in Southern California has the most comprehensive rent control ordinance. This subject guide can be used by students and renters or the general public in researching rent control ordinance.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

The following subject headings can be use when doing research using library catalog.

Rent control
Rent stabilization
Affordable housing

Keywords

For further information about Rent Control, search the following words and terms in electronic databases and other publications. Using Boolean operators and symbols such as and, or, not +, - are helpful in widening or narrowing your search.

Section 8
HACLA
Eviction
Property maintenance
Municipal Code

Reference Sources

The following reference sources is a good start in looking for the meaning of “Rent Control”

MSN Encarta
This reference source is available online.

The New Encyclopedia Britannica
This reference source is available at any public library

Merriam-Webster online
This reference source is also available online

Print Books

Landlord-tenant handbook for rental units subject to the Rent Stabilization Ordinance.
This handbook is available at the Los Angeles Public Library. The call # for this handbook is 333.5 L2575. You can also obtain a copy of this handbook at any City of Los Angeles Housing Department offices.

The California landlord’s law book [electronic resource]: rights and responsibilities.
This is an e-book. You can read the entire book by accessing any library website. A print copy is also available at Nolo Press

Rent control in California: responding to the housing crisis by William Dennis Keating.
This book is published by California Institute of Government Studies in UC Berkeley. This book can be borrowed at the Los Angeles Public Library and at the Long Beach City College Library.

Periodicals

The following periodicals have the latest articles about “Rent Control”. You can access these periodicals using any public library’s website online database ProQuest.

Journal of Housing and Community Development
Published by National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials, Washington D. C.

Consumers’ Research Magazine
Published by Consumers’ Research Incorporated, Washington D. C.

The American Economic Review
Published by American Economic Association, Nashville, Tennessee

Website Resources

Additional information regarding rent control can be found in the following websites.

http://www.lahd.lacity.org/
The City of Los Angeles has the most comprehensive rent control ordinance in California. Its mission is to develop citywide housing policy and supporting safe and livable neighborhoods through the promotion, development and preservation of decent and affordable housing.

www.consumer.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook/index.shtml
State of California Consumers Affairs Office to protect and serve consumers while ensuring a competent and fair marketplace

http://www.badlandlords.info/
This a website gives a lot of information for renters throughout the U. S.

http://www.chirpla.org/
Comprehensive Housing Information and Referrals for People Living with HIV/AIDS. They provide housing options, and related services for people living with HIV/AIDS in Los Angeles County.

www.tenant.net/Other_Areas/Calif/
Tenant.net is a compilation of resources dealing with landlord-tenant laws in the state of California.

http://www.hud.gov/
U. S. Department of Housing and Development provides housing information, news and tenant’s rights.


Organizations

The following are listings of organizations that help tenants in the City of Los Angeles

Southern California Housing Rights Center - Los Angeles Office520 S. Virgil Avenue #400Los Angeles 90020Phone (213) 387-8400

Southern California Housing Rights Center - Westside Office3415 S. Sepulveda Boulevard #150Los Angeles 90035Phone (310) 572-9234 Open on Wednesdays only

Fair Housing Foundation - South Los Angeles Office4401 Crenshaw Boulevard #317Los Angeles 90043Phone (323) 295-3302

Fair Housing Council of San Fernando Valley 8134 Van Nuys BoulevardPanorama City 91402Phone (818) 373-1185